The Roar
The Roar


Queen's Birthday honours 2018

Kurt Fearnley led the Aussies in the Comm Games closing ceremony – not that anyone was able to see it. (Image: AFP)
Roar Rookie
11th June, 2018

The Queen’s Birthday Honours recognise the achievements of Australians on and off the sporting field.

Rarely do sports people receive the Companion of the Order of Australia (AC), the highest honour but one of Australia’s greatest Olympians swimmer Dawn Fraser was awarded this honour.

Notable other athletes honoured include: Kurt Fearnley (Paralympic athletics), Julie Dolan (football), Kathryn Harby-Williams (netball), John Inverarity and Neil Harvey (cricket), Bobby Skilton (AFL), Max Krilich and Noel Kelly (rugby league), John Goss (motor sports) and Lyn Mckenzie (swimming).

Significant administrators honoured include Robert Bradley, Helen Brownlee, Dick Butler, David Hatt and Stephen Gough.

Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia Recipient
Dawn Fraser AO, MBE

For eminent service to sport, through ambassadorial, mentoring, and non-executive roles with a range of organisations at all levels, and to the community through roles in conservation and motoring associations.

Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia Recipient
Kurt Fearnley OAM

For distinguished service to people with a disability, as a supporter of, and fundraiser for, Indigenous athletics and charitable organisations, and as a Paralympic athlete.

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia Recipients
Diane Bennit

For significant service to equestrian sports as a competitor and coach, and to the horse industry as a commentator and administrator.

Robert Bradley (NSW)
For significant service to sport through management and community development, and as an advocate for health and water safety initiatives.

Helen Brownlee (NSW)
For significant service to sports administration, to women as an advocate for greater participation in sport, and to the Olympic movement.


Dick Butler (SA)
For significant service to basketball as a senior executive and administrator, and as an advocate for gender equality in development and competition.

Julie Dolan (NSW)
For significant service to football as an administrator, player and coach, and as an ambassador for elite player development and junior participation.

Emeritus Professor Bruce Elliott (WA)
For significant service to sports science as a teacher and researcher specialising in the fields of biomechanics and physical education.

Stephen Gough (VIC)
For significant service to sports administration and stadium management in Victoria through executive roles.

Janice Hadfield (Queensland)
For significant service to hockey as an international umpire, and to professional development of officials.

Kathryn Harby-Williams (VIC)
For significant service to netball as a player, national captain, coach, commentator, board member and player’s advocate.

David Hatt (WA)
For significant service to hockey as a senior administrator, to Australian rules football, and to sport in Western Australia.

John Inverarity (WA) MBE

For significant service to education, and to cricket as a player, captain, coach, and national selector.

Carmel Williams (Queensland)
For significant service to people with a disability, particularly through sporting organisations, and as an athlete and Paralympian.


Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division Recipients
OAM’s were awarded to many volunteers in their service to their respective sports. Many of the recipients below may not be widely known outside their sport but their contributions greatly assist the development of their respective sports.

These recipients are commonly referred to as ‘unsung heroes’ of sport.

AFL – Bob Bache (SA), Bruce Hill (VIC), Bobby Skilton (Vic)
Athletics – Ian Boswell (SA), Terri Cater (VIC), Lyn Foreman (WA), Bob Hussey (SA), Brian Makin (NSW), Greg Peterson (SA), Neville Sillitoe (Vic)
Basketball – Avis Scullin (Vic)
Badminton – Valerie Nesbitt (Vic)
Bocce – Frank Gazzola (VIC)
Boxing – Kelvin Bryant (VIC)
Cricket – Joanne Broadbent (NSW), Neil Harvey MBE (NSW) , Graham Hudson (NSW), Ian Ravenscroft (SA), Tony Wells (NSW),
Cycling – John Craven (VIC), Jon Leighton (NSW)
Equestrian and horse sports – James Blakeney (Queensland)
Gliding – Catherine Conway (SA)
Golf – Valma Bazley (Queensland), John Hobday (Vic), Ian McPherson (Vic)
Hockey – Marina Laverty (Queensland)
Horse racing – Barton Sinclair (Queensland)
Lawn bowls – late Jennifer Harragon (Queensland)
Motor sports – John Goss (NSW)
Netball – Clara Hicks (NSW), Sharon Kelly (NSW), Vicki Kerr (NSW), late Dorothy Lockwood (NSW)
Rowing – Lyall McCarthy (ACT)
Rugby leagie – Maurice Breen (NSW), Wayne Brennan (NSW), Ross Hamilton (NSW), Noel Kelly (NSW), Max Krilich (NSW), Stephen Parle (Queensland), Stephen Reeves (NSW), Syd Weller (NSW)
Rugby union – Geoffrey Barton (Queensland), Dick Cordy (ACT), Geoff Larkham (NSW)
Sailing – Anthony Bell (NSW), Marion Cooper (TAS), John Cuneo (Queensland)
Skiing – Helen L’Huillier (VIC)
Softball – Lorraine Brown (SA), Elizabeth Hannelly (NSW), Michael Hannelly (NSW), Catherine Kerr (NSW)
Swimming – Christian Hayes (NSW), Lyn McKenzie (WA)
Surf lifesaving – Chris Allum (NSW), Paul Fownes (NSW), Keith Kennedy (NSW), Patricia Newton (NSW), late Geoffrey Water (Vic), Andrew Winters (NSW)
Tenpin bowling – John Coxon (SA)
Volleyball – Wei Ping Tu (NSW)
Sports – Donna Baker (NSW), Richard Hogan (NSW)

Full details at the Governor-General’s website.