The Roar
The Roar


Fifita, Taumalolo headline Tongan squad to take on Kangaroos

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
19th September, 2018

Andrew Fifita and Jason Taumalolo headline a 29-man preliminary squad named by Tonga to take on the Kangaroos in an end of season Test match.

The Test, which will be played in Auckland on October 20 will follow a match played on the 13th by the Kangaroos at the same venue as they take on New Zealand.

Tonga head into this match having put in a successful run at last year’s World Cup where they surprised many to make the semi-finals, and with an increased international window, this match promises to be the first of many in the coming years between the island nation and bigger Tier 1 nations.

While Fifita and Taumalolo headline the Tongan squad, they have plenty of talent across the park.

Will Hopoate, David Fusitua, Michael Jennings, Robert Jennings, Solomone Kata, Tuimoala Lolohea and Ata Hingano promise to be the players leading the charge for backline spots. They will receive stiff competition from Koniseti Hurrell among others though.

In the forward pack, Manly enforce Addin-Fonua Blake will lead the re-enforcements for their two superstars.

Sika Manu, Samisoni Langi and Sam Moa both feature in the squad out of the Super League, while the dynamic Broncos duo of Joe Ofahengaue and Tevita Pangai Junior are also likely to receive a call-up when the final squad is confirmed by coach Kristian Woolf.

Woolf said he was happy with the squad selected.

“We are very pleased with the depth in the squad we have managed to name for this every important Test match,” said Woolf.


“We feel it is representative of the depth of Tongan rugby league in both the NRL and English Super League, and also rewards players that have made a firm commitment to playing for their country of heritage.

“This will be a huge occasion for Tonga to take on the top-ranked rugby league country in the world, so we need every player we can committed to that goal.”

Full squad
Andrew Fifita – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
Addin Fonua-Blake – Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles
Mahe Fonua – Wests Tigers
Moeaki Fotuaika – Gold Coast Titans
David Fusitua – New Zealand Warriors
Siliva Havilli – Canberra Raiders
Ata Hingano – Canberra Raiders
Will Hopoate – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
Koniseti Hurrell – Gold Coast Titans
Michael Jennings – Parramatta Eels
Robert Jennings – South Sydney Rabbitohs
Solomone Kata – New Zealand Warriors
Sione Katoa – Penrith Panthers
Samisoni Langi – Catalans Dragons
Tuimoala Lolohea – Wests Tigers
Sika Manu – Hull FC
Sam Moa – Catalans Dragons
Ben Murdoch-Masila – Warrington Wolves
Joe Ofahengaue – Brisbane Broncos
Tevita Pangai Junior – Brisbane Broncos
Agnatius Paasi – Warriors
Leivaha Pulu – Warriors
Scott Sorensen – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks
Ukuma Ta’ai – Huddersfield Giants
Jason Taumalolo – North Qld Cowboys
Tevita Tatola – South Sydney Rabbitohs
Sio Siua Taukeiaho – Sydney Roosters
Peni Terepo – Parramatta Eels
Daniel Tupou – Sydney Roosters