The Roar
The Roar


Prince Harry swaps Megxit drama for Rugby League World Cup draw

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
16th January, 2020

The Kangaroos have been drawn with Fiji, Scotland and Italy in the 2021 Rugby League World Cup in England, which was conducted by Prince Harry at Buckingham Palace.

Australia have been drawn in Group B alongside the trio of minnows.

The draw was conducted by Prince Harry at Buckingham Palace on Thursday UK time, with all eyes on the controversial royal in the middle of his so-called Megxit drama.

Prince Harry.

Prince Harry conducts the draw for the 2021 Rugby League World Cup. (Photo by JEREMY SELWYN/POOL/AFP via Getty Images)

Sixteen nations are taking part in the event, which will be opened by England’s Group A clash against Samoa at Newcastle’s St James’ Park on 23 October.

France and Greece make up the remainder of Group A with New Zealand, Lebanon, Jamaica and Ireland drawn in Group C.


Tonga, PNG, Wales and the Cook Islands form Group D.

Fixture dates for the tournament have yet to be announced but EPL grounds like Old Trafford, Anfield and the Emirates Stadium are among the 18 venues being used.

The women’s event will for the first time run concurrently to the men’s with the Jillarooos drawn in Group A with New Zealand, France and the Cook Islands.

England, Papua New Guinea, Canada, Brazil make up Group B.

In the wheelchair tournament, which will also run simultaneously, England, Australia, Spain, Norway are drawn in Group A with France, Wales, Scotland and the USA in Group B.