The Roar
The Roar


Aussies dominate ICC Test team of the year but World Cup champions get just TWO players in ODI side

23rd January, 2024
Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
23rd January, 2024
1164 Reads

The success of Australia’s men’s team in winning the World Test Championship and retaining the Ashes has been recognised by the International Cricket Council with five players included in their 2023 world XI but their ODI side has been given short shrift with just two getting selected.

Pat Cummins’ leadership has been rewarded after he was named captain of the side. 

However, only two Australians have been selected for the ODI XI, also released late on Tuesday, despite the team’s triumph at the World Cup in India.

South Australian Travis Head is the only player to be included in both teams while leg-spinner Adam Zampa was also picked in the ODI side. 

India, well beaten by Australia in the final, had six players selected in the 50-over XI with Rohit Sharma chosen as captain alongside opening partner Shubman Gill, star batter Virat Kohli and bowlers Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav and Mohammed Shami.

South African duo Heinrich Klaasen and Marco Jansen and New Zealand batter Daryl Mitchell round out the line-up.


Five women make the ICC ODI XI with Ellyse Perry, Beth Mooney and Ash Gardner having also featured in the T20 XI, released on Monday. Besides that trio Phoebe Litchfield and Annabel Sutherland were selected in the ODI XI.

There is no women’s Test XI due to the limited number of fixtures worldwide.

Apart from Cummins and Head, the other Australians in the men’s Test XI are Usman Khawaja, the only batter to make 1,000 Test runs in the calendar year, wicketkeeper Alex Carey  and Mitchell Starc.

However, there was no room for Nathan Lyon despite the veteran off-spinner taking the most wickets in Tests for the calendar year with 47 from just 10 matches.

Also included are Ashes nemesis Stuart Broad, fellow Englishman Joe Root, Indian spin duo Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin, New Zealand’s Kane Williamson and Dimuth Karunaratne of Sri Lanka.


with AAP