The Roar
The Roar


Australian ODI team v West Indies: More changes for series finale with Short's brief stint over, McDermott recalled

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
5th February, 2024

Australia batter Matt Short will miss the final one-day international clash with the West Indies after suffering a hamstring injury.

Short made an ODI career-high 41 in Australia’s 83-run, series-clinching win in Sydney on Sunday, but a lower-grade hamstring complaint means he won’t play the third match in Canberra on Tuesday.

Ben McDermott has been called up to cover Short’s absence after the Queenslander made a quality, unbeaten 146 in Sheffield Shield action against Tasmania across the weekend.

The hosts will be shuffling their batting card again, having rested Travis Head from the squad after the series-opening encounter where he again struggled and made just four runs.

Pace bowler Josh Hazlewood also won’t travel to Manuka Oval, staying in Sydney before heading to Hobart for the T20 portion of the West Indies’ tour.

Spencer Johnson has been called into the squad, while Xavier Bartlett is also expected to play, having rested after taking 4-17 in his ODI debut on Friday.

Sean Abbott, who clubbed 69 and took three wickets in Sunday’s win, thinks the series has unearthed long-term stars of the future.


Only four players who played in last year’s victorious World Cup final were available for both of Australia’s two matches since, leading to four debutants gaining selection across the pair of wins.

BANGALORE, INDIA - DECEMBER 3: Ben McDermott of Australia plays a shot during game five of the T20 International series between India and Australia at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium on December 3, 2023 in Bangalore, India. (Photo by Pankaj Nangia/Getty Images)

Ben McDermott. (Photo by Pankaj Nangia/Getty Images)

Along with Bartlett and fellow quick Lance Morris, swashbuckling batter Jake Fraser-McGurk and allrounder Will Sutherland have made ODI debuts.

Only three members of Australia’s champion World Cup squad are under 30, emphasising the need for the side to begin assessing its options for the coming years.

Australia squad for third ODI: Steve Smith (c), Sean Abbott, Xavier Bartlett, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood (vc), Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Lance Morris, Ben McDermott, Will Sutherland, Adam Zampa.
West Indies ODI squad: Shai Hope (c), Alzarri Joseph, Alick Athanaze, Teddy Bishop, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Matthew Forde, Justin Greaves, Kavem Hodge, Tevin Imlach, Gudakesh Motie, Kjorn Ottley, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.