The Roar
The Roar


NFL Super Bowl

Cooper Kupp of the Los Angeles Rams reacts with Matthew Stafford following a touchdown reception. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

The Super Bowl, The USA’s largest single sporting event, is the annual championship game of the National Football League (NFL) season.

The 2022 Super Bowl – Super Bowl LVI – saw the Los Angeles Rams defeat the Cincinnati Bengals 23-20 at SoFi Stadium in Inglewood, California.

Beginning with Super Bowl I in 1967, the event has become huge – and not just for the battle to win the Vince Lombardi Trophy. The international spectacle of the Super Bowl halftime show, and advertising spots worth millions of dollars all take centre-stage. The half time show at Super Bowl LVI is scheduled to see performances from Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Eminem, Mary J. Blige, and Kendrick Lamar.

Revered as an American institution the Super Bowl consistently breaks records as the most-watched television event nationwide. Nine of the top ten most-watched US television broadcasts of all time are Super Bowls.

Prior to 1970, the trophy was competed for by teams from the American Football League (AFL) and NFL. Following this, the two competitions merged in accordance with an agreement struck at the end of the 1966 season, in doing so becoming one unified football competition under the banner of the NFL.


The Super Bowl is played annually on a Sunday (referred to colloquially as Super Bowl Sunday – or Monday in Australia), and is played early in February.

To date, the Pittsburgh Steelers and New England Patriots have won the most Super Bowl titles with six each, followed by the Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers with five each. The Green Bay Packers and New York Giants have both won four. In contrast, the Buffalo Bills have played in a record four consecutive Super Bowls, losing all four, while the Minnesota Vikings have also played in four Super Bowls for no championship.


The Cleveland Browns, Detroit Lions, Houston Texans and Jacksonville Jaguars have never reached the Super Bowl, although the Browns and Lions did win NFL championships prior to the introduction of the Super Bowl.

More US Sports content