The Roar
The Roar


2017 NRL Auckland Nines: Start time, draw and TV schedule

NRL-NinesThe 2017 NRL Auckland Nines – part of the NRL pre-season – was won by the Sydney Roosters, defeating the Penrith Panthers in the final.

Seven talking points from the 2017 Auckland Nines

All 16 National Rugby League teams compete in the two-day competition, with at least 12 of each club’s top 25 players, as well as one top-five player from each of the club’s salary cap guaranteed to take part. So fans are guaranteed two action-packed days of top-class rugby league.

All teams play three matches against other teams in their group. As the name suggests, matches are played between two sides of nine players in nine-minute halves.

Click here for the full list of squads from the Auckland Nines.

The 16 teams are to be split into four groups, each playing three games in the group stage. From there, the top two teams from each group move on to the quarter-finals, where the winners play in a knockout format through to the grand final.

To catch the Auckland Nines action at home, Fox Sports and Sky Sports will be broadcasting the competition in Australia and New Zealand respectively.

2017 Auckland Nines Pools

Waiheke Piha Rangitoto Hunua
Cronulla Sharks St George Illawarra Dragons Newcacstle Knights North Queensland Cowboys
Gold Coast Titans Parramatta Eels Wests Tigers Sydney Roosters
Penrith Panthers Manly Sea Eagles Brisbane Broncos Canberra Raiders
Canterbury Bulldogs New Zealand Warriors Melbourne Storm South Sydney Rabbitohs

2017 Auckland Nines draw

Day 1 – Saturday February 4

Time Team 1 Team 2
Game 1 10:00 AM Sharks Titans
Game 2 10:25 AM Panthers Bulldogs
Game 3 10:50 AM Dragons Eels
Game 4 11:15 AM Warriors Sea Eagles
Game 5 11:50 AM Knights Tigers
Game 6 12:15 PM Broncos Storm
Game 7 12:40 PM Cowboys Roosters
Game 8 1:05 PM Raiders Rabbitohs
Women’s Game 1 1:30 PM New Zealand Australia
Game 9 1:55 PM Sharks Panthers
Game 10 2:20 PM Titans Bulldogs
Game 11 2:45 PM Dragons Sea Eagles
Game 12 3:10 PM Warriors Eels
Game 13 3:45 PM Knights Broncos
Game 14 4:10 PM Tigers Storm
Game 15 4:35 PM Cowboys Raiders
Game 16 5:00 PM Roosters Rabbitohs

Day 2 – Sunday February 5

Time Team 1 Team 2
Game 17 8:35 AM Sharks Bulldogs
Game 18 9:00 AM Titans Panthers
Game 19 9:25 AM Sea Eagles Eels
Game 20 9:50 AM Warriors Dragons
Game 21 10:15 AM Tigers Broncos
Game 22 10:40 AM Knights Storm
Game 23 11:05 AM Cowboys Rabbitohs
Game 24 11:30 AM Roosters Raiders
Quarter-Final 1 11:55 AM 1st Waiheke 2nd Rangitoto
Quarter-Final 2 12:20 PM 2nd Waiheke 1st Rangitoto
Quarter-Final 3 1:05 PM 1st Hunua 2nd Piha
Quarter-Final 4 1:30 PM 2nd Hunua 1st Piha
Women’s Game 2 1:55 PM New Zealand Australia
Semi-Final 1 2:40 PM Winner QF1 Winner QF2
Semi-Final 2 3:05 PM Winner QF3 Winner QF4
Women’s Game 3 3:50 PM New Zealand Australia
Final 4:40 PM Winner SF1 Winner SF2