Who should be Australia’s T20 all rounder?

mrrexdog Roar Pro

By mrrexdog, mrrexdog is a Roar Pro

 , ,

7 Have your say

    The Australian Twenty20 team has struggled to settle on an all-rounder since the retirement of Shane Watson.

    Mitch Marsh and Ashton Turner both have injuries that prevent them from bowling, Moises Henriques is a handy batsman but doesn’t bowl enough, while Marcus Stoinis has averaged ten with the bat in T20 internationals from seven innings this year, at a strike rate of 100.

    Currently, Australia’s best option is Dan Christian, who captained Nottinghamshire to the English T20 title last season with a batting average of 35 and a strike rate of 153. He also took 11 wickets at 23.53.

    Christian had a good Big Bash season with the Hobart Hurricanes, averaging 27 with the willow at a strike rate of 153, and taking 11 wickets at 26.63.

    While he struggled in the in the IPL, Christian returned to form in the England T20 Blast with scores of 3, 113* and 47 so far this season.

    Australia’s next T20 series is against Pakistan in October, just before the Test series.

    Aaron Finch should captain and open the batting following his recent form in the tri series. While he struggled in that tournament, D’Arcy Short’s 76 in the final should be enough for him to hold onto his spot.

    Given that Chris Lynn will still be unavailable, Usman Khawaja should bat at three, with the big-hitting Glenn Maxwell coming in at four. Travis Head, Dan Christian and Alex Carey would make up the rest of the middle order.

    Given that the series will be played in the UAE, it makes sense to play two spinners, with Ashton Agar partnering Nathan Lyon, and Mitch Starc and Andrew Tye the pace options.

    Shaun Marsh and Pat Cummins should be the reserves, as they will already be in the UAE for the Test series.

    My Aussie team for the Pakistan T20s
    Aaron Finch
    D’Arcy Short
    Usman Khawaja
    Glenn Maxwell
    Travis Head
    Dan Christian
    Alex Carey
    Ashton Agar
    Mitch Starc
    Andrew Tye
    Nathan Lyon

    Pat Cummins
    Shaun Marsh

    Getting hassled by a parent or partner about spending too much time playing video games? Now, you can tell them the story of how some ordinary gamers scored $225k for just seven weeks of work.

    Oldest | Newest | Most Recent

    The Crowd Says (7)

    • July 12th 2018 @ 8:39am
      Paul said | July 12th 2018 @ 8:39am | ! Report

      Two questions; why doesn’t Cummins play when he ranks 8th on the ICC list of T20 all rounders and why does Christian get a look in when his T20 numbers for bat and ball at international level are really poor? Granted he’s only batted 7 times, but hasn’t made double figures once and is going at nearly 9 an over.

      Your team for the T20 looks okay apart from that, though I’d play Maxwell a position higher. Roarers have been suggesting he doesn’t get a decent go batting further down the list so I’d slot him in at 3, so he can’t be excused for not performing, simply because he had few deliveries to face.

    • Roar Guru

      July 12th 2018 @ 9:11am
      Ryan H said | July 12th 2018 @ 9:11am | ! Report

      Dan Christian – concur. Even at 35, his output in the format is still excellent, and I’d have him as the first choice all-rounder for Australia in the short-term anyway.

      Either way I’m just not convinced it’s Stoinis, and wouldn’t even have him in the best T20 XI at the minute. He’s still a lock for ODI matches in my view, he’s played a few unbelievable innings in that arena already. Yet to achieve a lot at domestic T20 level with an average just over 20 and only a few fifties to show.

    • July 12th 2018 @ 9:11am
      Krishna Singh said | July 12th 2018 @ 9:11am | ! Report

      I like very much your team, mitch marsh my man answer to allrounder, khawaja opening for me with finch, and shaun may injure still by that time shoulder issue, christian could be backup

    • July 12th 2018 @ 11:44am
      KenoathCarnt said | July 12th 2018 @ 11:44am | ! Report

      Fully fit team
      5 bowlers 1 all rounder

      Or 4 bowlers 2 allrounders


    • July 12th 2018 @ 1:25pm
      Eddie Otto said | July 12th 2018 @ 1:25pm | ! Report

      I could be wrong but i reckon Dan Christian has his papers marked – won’t play again for Australia. Can’t argue with his output however I can’t see the selectors investing so much time in the likes of Stoinis, Marsh and Agar and then suddenly turning back to a 35 year old who will be 37 in the 2020 WC. Not saying it shouldn’t happen if he is the stand out candidate but highly unlikely. Like you say no all rounder has really put their stamp on the side.

      • July 12th 2018 @ 2:58pm
        Krishna Singh said | July 12th 2018 @ 2:58pm | ! Report

        Good point, 37 not realistic option

      • Roar Guru

        July 12th 2018 @ 4:23pm
        Ryan H said | July 12th 2018 @ 4:23pm | ! Report

        True, well said; but why couldn’t he still be part of the World T20 side even at that age, if his performance was still earning him the place? It wouldn’t be a long-term thing, it would be to give the side the best chance of winning that tournament solely.

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.

    , ,