The Roar
The Roar


Under 20s State of Origin: NSW Blues vs Queensland Maroons live scores, blog

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
10th July, 2019
3774 Reads


Scores updated regularly. REFRESH NOW

2019 Under 20 State of Origin

Venue: ANZ Stadium, Homebush
Match time: Fulltime
New South Wales Blues Queensland Maroons
36 SCORE 10
6 Tries 2
5 Conversions 1
1 Penalty Goals 0
0 Field Goals 0

Show Preview

Rugby league fans will get a chance to look at the next generation of rugby league rep talent as Queensland look to make it two in a row at under 20s State of Origin level against New South Wales. Join The Roar for live scores and coverage from 5:15pm (AEST).

More Origin 3
» NSW Blues player ratings
» Queensland Maroons player ratings
» WATCH: Match highlights as Blues seal epic series
» WATCH: James Tedesco ices victory with last-play winner
» WATCH: Kaufusi scores first try of Origin 3

The young Blues had held a long domination of the under 20s game over the years, but that all came crashing down as the young Maroons ran away with a big victory last year.

Of course, most of those players have now come and gone, and there is some real excitement across both of this year’s line-ups.

Cooper Johns and Brandon Wakeham will form the New South Wales halves pairing, with Johns under the master coaching of Craig Bellamy in Melbourne and Wakeham impressing in the halves for Fiji a fortnight ago as they whacked Lebanon.

Tex Hoy at fullback has plenty of wraps on him, while Sam Verrills has already made his first-grade debut at the Roosters and is seen as one of the best young hookers in the game.

The Blues spine is a strong one, but comes up against a tough opposition, with Ronald Mulitalo impressing at junior level for the strong Cronulla nursery. He will have the added advantage of combinations, with Braydon Trindall also at Cronulla in the halves, while the kicking game of Cory Paix, a Broncos junior, should be something to watch.

New South Wales also have plenty of power up front, with the NRL-experienced Oregon Kaufusi leading the way. He is joined by Spencer Leniu out of the Panthers and Darby Medlyn from Canberra. Both are yet to experience the top grade, but have a huge job ahead in trying to contain the Queensland pack.

Eddie Blacker will look to have plenty of impact for the Maroons up front. He has had a huge impact in reserve grade this year, and with his size, could be the difference-maker to the game.


Tino Fa’asuamaleaui, who made his debut for the Melbourne Storm on Thursday night was also just about best on ground in the under 18s last year, and is rated as one of the best young prospects in the game. His combination with Trindall could be the other difference.

The only player to back up from the 18s this year is gun centre Fanitesi Niu, who can’t be far from first grade once he does turn 18, while others to watch out for include Stephen Crichton, Jason Saab, Murray Taulagi, Elijah Anderson and Tanah Boyd off the Maroons bench.

The Maroons probably just have a bit too much strength up front here, and with Trindall running the show, I expect them to get the win.

Queensland by 4.

Be sure to join The Roar for the under 20s State of Origin from 5pm (AEST) and don’t forget to add a comment in the section below.

Game information

Kick-off: 5:15pm (AEST)
Venue: ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Online: Live,,,

NSW Blues U-20s
1. Tex Hoy (Knights), 2. Tuipolota Katoa (Bulldogs), 3. Stephen Crichton (Panthers), 4. Ethan Parry (Eels), 5. Jason Saab (Dragons), 6. Cooper Johns (Storm), 7. Brandon Wakeham (Bulldogs), 8. Spencer Leniu (Panthers), 9. Sam Verrills (Roosters), 10. Oregon Kaufusi (Eels), 11. Teig Wilton (Sharks), 12. Matthew Doorey (Bulldogs), 13. Darby Medlyn (Raiders)


Interchange: 14. Luke Huth (Knights), 15. Stefano Utoikamanu (Eels), 16. Matt Croker (Knights), 17. Ky Rodwell (Rabbitohs), 18. Tommy Talau (Tigers), 19. Alex Seyfarth (Tigers), 20. Phoenix Crossland (Knights)

Queensland Maroons U-20s
1. Ronald Mulitalo (Sharks), 2. Treymain Spry (Titans), 3. Fanitesi Niu (Broncos), 4. Murray Taulagi (Cowboys), 5. Elijah Anderson (Cowboys), 6. Braydon Trindall (Sharks), 7. Cory Paix (Broncos), 8. Eddie Blacker (Dragons), 9. Kobe Hetherington (Broncos), 10. Ethan Bullemor (Broncos), 11. Tino Fa’asuamaleaui (Storm), 12. J’maine Hopgood (Panthers), 13. Tom Gilbert (Cowboys)

Interchange: 14. Tanah Boyd (Titans), 15. Ben Condon (Cowboys), 16. Logan Bayliss-Brow (Cowboys), 17. Nathan Barrett (Cowboys), 18. Garrett Smith (Cowboys)

Hide Preview