2013 Tour de France – Stage 9 live updates, blog

123 Have your say

    2013 Tour de France (Image: Chungkong)

    Stage 9 of the 2013 Tour de France promises to be action packed, with five big climbs sure to give us a clear indication of who is capable of challenging Chris Froome for overall honours. Join us for live updates and commentary from 10.00pm AEST.

    Froome stormed into the yellow jersey with victory in Stage 8, a mountaintop finish in the ski resort of Ax-3-Domaines.

    None of his rivals able to keep pace with the Kenyan-born Birth after he was set up to perfection by Team Sky team-mate Richie Porte.

    Froome now leads Porte in the General Classification by 51 seconds, with Movistar’s Alejandro Valverde 1:25 minutes behind in third position.

    The day starts with a Category 2 climb – the Col de Portet-d’Aspet, followed by afour straight Category 1 climbs, the last of which is the La Horquette d’Ancizan, a 10 kilometre climb with an average gradient of 7.5 percent.

    The summit of the last climb is followed by a 20 kilometre descent to the finish line, so significant moves by the GC contenders aren’t expected – but we do expect to see some riders struggle with the tempo likely to be set by the boys from Sky.

    With big names like Cadel Evans, Alberto Contador and Andy Schleck all seemingly struggling on yesterday’s stage, seeing how they fare tonight will be intriguing.

    Join me for all the live action from 10.00pm AEST.

    Follow Jason on Twitter @jasonkohlmorgen

    This video is trending right now! Submit your videos for the chance to win a share of $10,000!

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.

    The Crowd Says (123)

    The Roar Live Blog: Latest comments displayed at the top of the page | Click here to jump to leave a comment

    • Roar Guru

      jasonkohlmorgen said | 1:17am | ! Report

      Thanks for joining us here at The Roar for Stage 9 of the Tour de France.

    • Roar Guru

      jasonkohlmorgen said | 12:43am | ! Report

      Peter Sagan can’t have lost too much time – he’s receiving the green jersey now. Not a bad ride Peter.

    • Roar Guru

      jasonkohlmorgen said | 12:39am | ! Report

      Sounds like Chris Froome has decided he’d rather make his way to the team bus than attend the presentations. He must have had a change of heart, he’s on the podium now and looking relatively happy.

    • Roar Guru

      jasonkohlmorgen said | 12:33am | ! Report

      Still no Chris Froome. I don’t think we’ve heard the last of this.

    • Roar Guru

      jasonkohlmorgen said | 12:32am | ! Report

      Romain Bardet named Most Combative Rider for the day, well deserved.

    • Roar Guru

      jasonkohlmorgen said | 12:29am | ! Report

      Chris Froome apparently is not attending the yellow jersey presentation. If this is true, there are going to be some very angry organisers. Interesting goings on indeed.

    • Roar Guru

      jasonkohlmorgen said | 12:26am | ! Report

      Dan Martin looks very, very happy as he gets presented to the crowd as the winner of Stage 9.

    • Roar Guru

      jasonkohlmorgen said | 12:24am | ! Report

      The new to 10 of the overall rankings is:

      1. Chris Froome (GBR) SKY

      2. Alejandro Valverde (ESP) MOV at 1’25”

      3. Bauke Mollema (NED) BEL at 1’44”

      4. Laurens Ten Dam (NED) BEL at 1’50”

      5. Roman Kreuziger (CZE) TST at 1’51”

      6. Alberto Contador (ESP) TST at 1’51”

      7. Nairo Quintana (COL) MOV at 2’02”

      8. Daniel Martin (IRL) GRS at 2’28”

      9. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) KAT at 2’31”

      10. Rui Costa (POR) MOV at 2’45”

    • Roar Guru

      jasonkohlmorgen said | 12:24am | ! Report

      The top 10 on Stage 9

      1. Dan Martin (IRL) GST – 168.5km in 4h43’03”

      2. Jakob Fuglsang (DEN) AST at same time

      3. Michal Kwiatkowski (POL) OPQ at 20″

      4. Daniel Moreno (ESP) KAT at 20″

      5. Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP) KAT 20″

      6. Cadel Evans (AUS) BMC at 20″

      7. Wouter Poels (NED) VCD at 20″

      8. Bauke Mollema (NED) BEL at 20″

      9. Daniel Navarro (ESP) COF at 20″

      10. Maxime Monfort (BEL) RTL at 20″

    , ,