The Roar
The Roar


2021 Tour Down Under

(Jean-Christophe Bott/Keystone via AP)

The Tour Down Under is the premier cycling race in Australia. Raced over six stages each year, the event sees some of the biggest names in the sport head to the country.

It’s raced in South Australia, with all of the stages starting and finishing within two hours drive of Adelaide.

It also features a criterium classic, which is raced on the Sunday night before the race itself begins.

The 2021 edition was cancelled due to border closure complications arising from COVID-19 outbreaks elsewhere in the country.

Australia’s Richie Porte won the Tour Down Under in 2020, with a time of 20 hours, 37 minutes and eight seconds. Italy’s Diego Ulissi and Germany’s Simon Geschke rounded out the podium, while reigning back-to-back champion Daryl Impey finished sixth.

2020 Tour Down Under route

Stage Route Distance Date
Stage 1 Tanunda to Tanunda 150km Tuesday, January 21
Stage 2 Woodside to Stirling 135.8km Wednesday, January 22
Stage 3 Unley to Paracombe 131km Thursday, January 23
Stage 4 Norwood to Murray Bridge 152.8km Friday, January 24
Stage 5 Glenelg to Victor Harbour 149.1 km Saturday, January 25
Stage 6 McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill 151.5 km Sunday, January 26

More Cycling content