The Roar
The Roar


2021 Tour de France

Richie Porte, right, finishes on the podium. (Photo by Stuart Franklin/Getty Images,)

The 2021 Tour de France ran from Saturday, June 26 until Sunday, July 18. Here, you can find the full route for 2021’s Tour, with the courses, distances and stage types.

The Tour de France, first run in 1903, is known as the biggest race in world cycling and is one of the three grand tours, alongside the Vuelta a Espana and Giro d’Italia. The grand tours are the only races allowed to go for three weeks’ duration and are the most prestigious tours on the calendar.

The 2021 Tour de France was won by Slovenia’s Tadej Pogacar – his second straight title. Pogacar also repeated as the winner of the Mountains and Youth classifications. Denmark’s Jonas Vingegaard finished second and Ecuador’s Richard Carapaz rounded out the podium. Mark Cavendish of Great Britain took out the points classification and equalled Eddy Merckx’s stage wins record in the process.

Australia’s Brendan O’Connor finished fourth on his Tour de France debut.

Cadel Evans’ victory in 2011 is the only time an Australian has been named the Tour de France’s general classification winner. Australia has won the points classification five times, however, with Robbie McEwen doing so three times.

2021 Tour de France route

Stage Date Course Distance Stage Type
1 Sat Jun 26 Brest to Landerneau 187km Hilly
2 Sun Jun 27 Perros-Guirec to Mûr-de-Bretagne 182km Medium-mountain
3 Mon Jun 28 Lorient to Pontivy 182km Flat
4 Tue Jun 29 Redon to Fougères 152km Flat
5 Wed Jun 30 Changé to Laval 27km Individual time trial
6 Thu Jul 1 Tours to Châteauroux 144km Flat
7 Fri Jul 2 Vierzon to Le Creusot 248km Medium-mountain
8 Sat Jul 3 Oyonnax to Le Grand-Bornand 151km Mountain
9 Sun Jul 4 Cluses to Tignes 145km Mountain
Mon Jul 5 Rest day
10 Tue Jul 6 Albertville to Valence 186km Flat
11 Wed Jul 7 Sorgues to Malaucène 199km Mountain
12 Thu Jul 8 Saint-Paul-Trois-Châteaux to Nîmes 161km Flat
13 Fri Jul 9 Nîmes to Carcassonne 220km Flat
14 Sat Jul 10 Carcassonne to Quillan 184km Medium-mountain
15 Sun Jul 11 Céret to Andorra la Vella (Andorra) 192km Mountain
Mon Jul 12 Rest day
16 Tue Jul 13 El Pas de la Casa (Andorra) to Saint-Gaudens 169km Medium-mountain
17 Wed Jul 14 Muret to Saint-Lary-Soulan 178km Mountain
18 Thu Jul 15 Pau to Luz Ardiden 130km Mountain
19 Fri Jul 16 Mourenx to Libourne 203km Flat
20 Sat Jul 17 Libourne to Saint-Émilion 31km Individual time trial
21 Sun Jul 18 Chatou to Paris, Champs-Élysées 112km Flat

More Cycling content