The Roar
The Roar


Giro d'Italia 2020

Caleb Ewan at the Giro d'Italia. (Photo by Peter Mundy/Getty Images)

The 2020 Giro d’Italia has been postponed to October 2020.

The Giro d’Italia is one of professional cycling’s three Grand Tour races, alongside the Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana. The Giro d’Italia is an annual multiple-stage professional cycling race that takes place primarily in Italy in late May and early June in the lead-in to the Tour de France.

The Giro d’Italia was first raced in 1909 and was established by Italian newspaper La Gazzetta dello Sport, and has been staged on 102 occasions. It is raced across 23 days with 21 stages interspersed with two rest days, and normally concludes in the northern Italian city of Milan – although 2018 saw a break with tradition as the tour ended in Rome, while 2019 saw it end in Verona.

Three riders – Alfredo Binda, Fausto Coppi and Eddie Merckx – have tasted success at the Giro d’Italia on a record five occasions. Other notable winners of Italy’s most prestigious cycling race include Miguel Indurain, Marco Pantani and Alberto Contador.

2019 Giro d’Italia General Classification

Pos. Rider Country Team Time/Gap
1 Richard Carapaz Ecuador Movistar Team 90:01:47
2 Vincenzo Nibali Italy Bahrain-Merida +1:05
3 Primoz Roglic Slovenia Team Jumbo-Visma +2:30
4 Mikel Landa Spain Movistar Team +2:38
5 Bauke Mollema Netherlands Trek-Segafredo +5:43
6 Rafal Majka Poland Bora-Hansgrohe +6:56
7 Miguel Angel Lopez Colombia Astana +7:26
8 Simon Yates Great Britain Michelton-Scott +7:49
9 Pavel Sivakov Russia Team Ineos +8:56
10 Ilnur Zakarin Russia Team Katusha-Alpecin +12:14

2019 Giro d’Italia Stages

Stage Date Course Distance Stage type Winner
1 Sat May 11 Bologna to San Luca 8km Individual time trial Primoz Roglic
2 Sun May 12 Bologna to Fucecchio 205km Hilly Pascal Ackermann
3 Mon May 13 Vinci to Orbetello 220km Flat Fernando Gaviria
4 Tue May 14 Orbetello to Frascati 235km Flat Richard Carapaz
5 Wed May 15 Frascati to Terracina 140km Flat Pascal Ackermann
6 Thu May 16 Cassino to San Giovanni Rotondo 238km Hilly Fausto Masnada
7 Fri May 17 Vasto to L’Aquila 185km Hilly Pello Bilbao
8 Sat May 18 Tortoreto Lido to Pesaro 239km Hilly Caleb Ewan
9 Sun May 19 Riccione to San Marino 34.8km Individual time trial Primoz Roglic
Mon May 20 – Rest Day 1
10 Tue May 21 Ravenna to Modena 145km Flat Arnaud Demare
11 Wed May 22 Carpi to Novi Ligure 221km Flat Caleb Ewan
12 Thu May 23 Cuneo to Pinerolo 158km Hilly Cesare Benedetti
13 Fri May 24 Pinerolo to Ceresole Reale 196km Mountain Ilnur Zakarin
14 Sat May 25 Saint-Vincent to Courmayeur 131km Mountain Richard Carapaz
15 Sun May 26 Ivrea to Como 232km Intermediate Dario Cataldo
Mon May 27 – Rest Day 2
16 Tue May 28 Lovere to Ponte di Legno 226km Mountain Giulio Ciccone
17 Wed May 29 Commezzadura to Anterselva 181km Intermediate Nans Peters
18 Thu May 30 Valdaora to Santa Maria di Sala 222km Flat Damiano Cima
19 Fri May 31 Treviso to San Martino di Castrozza 151km Mountain Esteban Chaves
20 Sat Jun 1 Feltre to Croce d’Aune-Monte Avena 194km Mountain Pello Bilbao
21 Sun Jun 2 Verona 17km Individual time trial Chad Haga

More Cycling content