Peter Sagan sensationally booted from Tour de France as Arnaud Demare wins Stage 4

By Reuters,

11 Have your say

    France’s Arnaud Demare won the fourth stage of the Tour de France and took the green sprinters jersey on a day that saw the winner of the last five green jerseys, Peter Sagan, kicked out of the race.

    Sagan made heavy contact with British sprinter Mark Cavendish in the sprint to the line and appeared to elbow him right before Cavendish crashed into the barriers and then to the pavement within a few hundred metres of the finish line.

    Cavendish wasn’t happy with the contact he received from Sagan, who he felt hit him with an extended elbow.

    “If he came across that is one thing but I am not a fan of him putting his elbow out like that,” Cavendish vented after the stage had finished.

    Race organisers appeared to agree and disqualified Sagan from the 2017 Tour hours after the finish of the stage.

    “Peter Sagan is disqualified from the 2017 Tour de France after today’s tumultuous sprint in Vittel,” race jury president Philippe Marien told reporters.

    He cited Article 12 of the International Cycling Union (UCI) rules, which states that any rider making a wilful obstruction “against one of the 1st 10 riders placed” faces elimination.

    In 2010, Cavendish’s then lead-out man Mark Renshaw of Australia was kicked out of the race for headbutting New Zealand’s Julian Dean in a sprint.

    Yellow jersey holder Geraint Thomas crashed earlier in the finale but since the incident occurred within the final three kilometres, he will be credited with the same time as the winner.

    Sagan had finished the bunch sprint in second but when he was disqualified it moved Alexander Kristoff into second and Andra Greipel into third.

    Australia’s Michael Matthews was in the bunch finish as well and finished the stage in seventh place.

    Matthews is level with reigning champion Chris Froome in the general classification, 12 seconds behind Thomas.

    Team BMC’s Australia star Richie Porte failed to make any dent in the gap to Froome or Thomas and is 47 seconds adrift of the leaders in 19th overall.

    Porte was around Thomas when his crash happened and was thankful not to lose any time because of the three kilometre rule before suggesting he may launch an assault on stage five.

    “It wasn’t so hard but it was pretty stressful there in the final. There were a couple of big crashes. Thank god for the three kilometre rule,” Porte said.

    “I’m super motivated for tomorrow. All of the guys in the team are motivated for tomorrow as well. I think we just have to see how the race goes but I expect it to be absolutely full gas. It’s the first big test of the Tour de France in 2017.”

    Stage five will begin in Vittel and end with a Category One climb to La Planche Des Belles Filles that will last almost six of the stage’s 160.5 kilometres.

    © Reuters 2018
    Do you find yourself logged out of The Roar?
    We have just switched over to a secure site (https). This means you will need to log-in afresh. If you need help with recovering your password, please get in contact.

    This video is trending right now! Submit your videos for the chance to win a share of $10,000!

    Oldest | Newest | Most Recent

    The Crowd Says (11)

    • July 5th 2017 @ 11:05am
      Big Steve said | July 5th 2017 @ 11:05am | ! Report

      An absolutely crazy decision. I am struggling to think of a more ridiculous judiciary ruling in recent times. Grivko got the same for punching Kittel in the face. Massive over reaction and how Dimension Data were able to appeal the initial ruling and get him kicked is even more amazing.

    • July 5th 2017 @ 3:51pm
      Albo said | July 5th 2017 @ 3:51pm | ! Report

      It was an extremely negligent move by Sagan that caused a very dangerous situation that could have ended up being much worse for the cyclists involved. Not sure how Cavendish and others have recovered ? Whether that warranted expulsion from the tour , I am not sure ? But the riders need to be protected from cowboy behaviour, and as such I am happy to go with the judiciary verdict on this occasion.

      • Roar Guru

        July 5th 2017 @ 4:22pm
        Scott Pryde said | July 5th 2017 @ 4:22pm | ! Report

        Albo – Cavendish is out.

        • July 6th 2017 @ 10:51am
          Albo said | July 6th 2017 @ 10:51am | ! Report

          Yep ! Having now watched the replays a few more times, I’m now thinking Sagan might have been a bit stiff ? Seems to be a fine line as who might have been at fault here . Sagan coming out seemed to have had the line, with Cav coming from back and inside with a gap now not quite big enough ? And with all this happening at maximum speed the accident was probably inevitable. Apportioning the blame is the query. Not convinced it was all Sagan’s fault and therefore the penalty now seems harsh. The upshot is that the battle for the Green jersey now has been diminished with both these great riders on their way home .

    • July 5th 2017 @ 4:08pm
      Brad said | July 5th 2017 @ 4:08pm | ! Report

      The other sprinters will be happy, thats about 10 stage wins up for grabs now without those two and also the green jersey

    • Roar Rookie

      July 5th 2017 @ 7:29pm
      Jon said | July 5th 2017 @ 7:29pm | ! Report

      Having watched the front on it looked like Cav was already in trouble before the elbow came out. I don’t think you can discount Cav’s role in the incident. He made a very risky move to try to sneak through between Sagan and the barrier. The gap closed and he had no where to go. Not saying he deserved to crash out of the race. You never like to see that, but I don’t think it was just Sagan’s fault there.

      As for the elbow, it doesn’t look good. But was it put out by Sagan to collect Cav or a reaction to contact already made between the two? Can understand why they would kick him out after watching the footage. Maybe it is a bit harsh, but it was quite a nasty incident. Apparently Sagan is appealing the decision, but I’d be surprised if they change their decision.

    • July 5th 2017 @ 8:37pm
      DT said | July 5th 2017 @ 8:37pm | ! Report

      To my eyes it appears Sagan just put his elbow out to protect himself. Hard to see much contact from the overhead shot. Maybe he felt Cavendish beside and behind him and wanted to create some space. Either way, there wasn’t any room there.

      • July 5th 2017 @ 9:16pm
        jameswm said | July 5th 2017 @ 9:16pm | ! Report

        There was before Sagan veered across.

    • July 5th 2017 @ 9:47pm
      John Erichsen said | July 5th 2017 @ 9:47pm | ! Report

      Hard to believe this event still has any credibility after yet another controversy. What a waste of time and space.

    Have Your Say

    If not logged in, please enter your name and email before submitting your comment. Please review our comments policy before posting on the Roar.