The Roar
The Roar


2019 Rugby Championship fixture close to being finalised

Autoplay in... 6 (Cancel)
Up Next No more videos! Playlist is empty -
11th December, 2018

The fixture for the 2019 Rugby Championship has almost taken shape, with Rugby Australia today confirming the Wallabies will kick off their 2019 fixture in Johannesburg.

It will be a shortened edition of the tournament next year, with each team only playing four matches (rather than six) due to the 2019 Rugby World Cup kicking off in November.

»Rugby World Cup Fixtures

Australia will play New Zealand twice – which will constitute the entire Bledisloe Cup series – while South Africa and Argentina will square off two times as well.

All other combinations will only be played out once, while the tournament will also kick off earlier than normal to accommodate for the quadrennial event.

The Wallabies will begin their campaign on July 20, with a road trip to Johannesburg to play the Springboks. They’ll then return home to play Argentina in Brisbane, before taking on the All Blacks in Perth and Auckland in successive weeks.

After a dreadful 2018 Rugby Championship campaign, all eyes will be on Australia to right the ship and get back to their winning ways in what shapes to be a massive year of rugby.

Rugby AU is reporting that the side will head to the USA at the conclusion of the tournament for some final practice before heading to Japan for the world cup.

Wallabies Rugby Championship fixtures 2019


* – denotes likely, but unconfirmed, fixture

Date Time Teams Venue
Jul 20 TBC South Africa vs Australia Ellis Park, Johannesburg
Jul 27* TBC Australia vs Argentina Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Aug 10 TBC Australia vs New Zealand Optus Stadium, Perth
Aug 17 TBC New Zealand vs Australia Eden Park, Auckland

You can view the full 2019 Rugby Championship fixtures here.