The Roar
The Roar


Big Bash League

(Photo by Mark Metcalfe/Getty Images)

The Big Bash League is Australia’s premier domestic Twenty20 cricket competition.

Riding on the success of the Indian Premier League, the Big Bash was formed in 2011 with eight teams based in six cities. Sydney and Melbourne were both given two teams, while Brisbane, Hobart, Adelaide and Perth have a single team each.

The most recent champions of the BBL are the Perth Scorchers, who won their fourth title after beating the Sydney Sixers in the grand final of BBL 11 in January 2022. It was the fifth time that these two teams have played the grand final with the first being in the inaugural Big Bash League which was won by the Sixers, who recorded a seven-wicket win over the Scorchers at the WACA.

The Brisbane Heat, under the tutelage of Darren Lehmann, won the second edition, before the Perth Scorchers went back-to-back in 2013-14 and 2014-15.

The Sydney Thunder won their maiden title in 2015-16 after enduring a torrid first four seasons from which they reaped three wooden spoons and no finals appearances.

Perth brought up a third title in the 2016-17 season, defeating the Sixers by nine wickets, before the Adelaide Strikers claimed their first title in 2018 with a win over the Hobart Hurricanes.

2019 saw the Melbourne Renegades break through for their first title after a stunning win over the Stars in the grand final.

The most recent season of the competition is Big Bash League 11 (BBL 11) and it ran from 5th December 2021 to 28th January 2022. The fixtures can be found on The Roar’s BBL page here.

The eight teams that feature in the Big Bash League are:


Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.

Similar to the Indian Premier League, each team is able to sign up to 18 players, unrestricted by traditional state-defined boundaries that other Australian domestic cricket competitions have, with each side also able to sign two overseas-based players on their roster.

More Cricket content