The Roar
The Roar


2018-19 Women's Big Bash League

Naomi Stalenberg of the Thunder takes a big swing (Photo by Stefan Gosatti/Getty Images)

The Women’s Big Bash League, or WBBL, is the premier women’s Twenty20 competition in the world, boasting some of the best players from all over the world. Squads for the 2018-19 season are yet to be confirmed.

Broadcast on Network Ten, it is one of the first women’s leagues in the history of Australian sport to enjoy widespread, continuous exposure on free-to-air television. A full guide to where WBBL games will be broadcast can be found on our WBBL fixtures page.

The most recent champions of the WBBL are the Sydney Sixers, who took out their second grand final in a row over the Perth Scorchers in Adelaide.

The WBBL has already begun to take off, with coverage increasing from year to year and players from more countries becoming involved in the competition.

WBBL|01 was won by the Sydney Thunder, who beat their cross-town rivals, the Sixers, in a last-ball thriller in the final at the MCG.

The WBBL|02 season saw the Sixers avenge their defeat, though they did so against the Perth Scorchers at the WACA.

Ellyse Perry batting Sydney Sixers

WBBL Teams

The WBBL is contested between the same eight franchises which comprise the men’s Big Bash League: the Adelaide Strikers, Brisbane Heat, Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Stars, Perth Scorchers, Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder.


Each club can sign a squad of 15 players, including five current or recent Southern Stars and up to three other international players.

Squads which played during the 2017/18 season are below. Squads for 2018-19 need to be finalised by November 23 and will be published here as they are.

Adelaide Strikers

The Strikers struggled last season, finishing at the bottom of the table.

Adelaide resigned Megan Schutt and Amanda-Jade Wellington, and their biggest addition is the signing of Suzie Bates, the former Perth Scorchers captain.

Adelaide Strikers 2017/18 WBBL squad
Rhiannon Dick, Annie O’Neil, Ellie Falconer, Tammy Beaumont (Eng), Suzie Bates (NZ), Sophie Devine (NZ), Megan Schutt, Amanda Wellington, Samantha Betts, Tahlia McGrath, Katelyn Pope, Alex Price, Tabatha Saville, Tegan McPharlin, Bridget Patterson


Brisbane Heat
Brisbane Heat logo

Brisbane showed improvement last season, finishing third.

The Heat have locked up Beth Mooney and Jess Jonassen for the next three years.

Brisbane Heat 2017/18 WBBL squad:
Beth Mooney, Jess Jonassen, Grace Harris, Deandra Dottin (WI), Holly Ferling, Kara Sutherland, Georgia Prestwidge, Delissa Kimmince, Jemma Barsby, Haidee Birkett, Sammy-Jo Johnson, Tess Cooper, Laura Harris, Kirby Short, Courtney Hill

Hobart Hurricanes
Hobart Hurricanes logo

Hobart managed seven wins last season, good enough for fourth in the table.

The Hurricanes lost Erin Burns (Sixers), Julie Hunter (retired) and Amy Satterthwaite (Renegades) but have brought in Sasha Moloney and Celeste Raack.


Hobart Hurricanes 2017/18 WBBL squad:
Corinne Hall (C), Emma Thompson, Erin Fazackerley, Brooke Hepburn, Georgia Redmayne, Veronica Pyke, Katelyn Fryett, Celeste Raack, Sasha Moloney, Veda Krishnamurthy (Ind), Lauren Winfield (Eng), Meg Phillips, Stefanie Daffara, Nicola Hancock, Hayley Matthews

Melbourne Renegades
Melbourne Renegades logo

The Renegades had a rough season again, finishing second to last above the Adelaide Strikers.

They will have a new skipper as Amy Satterthwaite has joined from the Hurricanes. They also added Jess Duffin and Hayley Jensen from the Stars.

Melbourne Renegades 2017/18 WBBL squad:
Amy Satterthwaite (C) (NZ), Molly Strano, Sophie Molineux, Jess Duffin, Leah Tahuhu (NZ), Hayley Jensen, Emma Inglis, Maitlan Brown, Claire Koski, Georgia Wareham, Chamari Atapattu (SL), Tayla Vlaeminck, Kris Britt, Rhiann O’Donnell, Jennifer Taffs

Melbourne Stars
Melbourne Stars logo


While the Stars fared better than their cross-town rivals last season, they finished fifth behind the Hurricanes and missed out on the semis.

The Stars will look a bit different this season, having lost key players Meg Lanning and Jess Duffin while adding Mignon du Preez, Georgia Elwiss, Lizelle Lee, Erin Osborne and Nicole Faltum.

Melbourne Stars 2017/18 WBBL squad:
Kristen Beams (C), Makinley Blows, Hayleigh Brennan, Mignon du Preez (SA), Georgia Elwiss (Eng), Nicole Faltum, Emma Kearney, Alana King, Anna Lanning, Lizelle Lee (SA), Katie Mack, Erin Osborne, Gemma Triscari, Chloe Rafferty, Annabel Sutherland

Perth Scorchers
Perth Scorchers logo


The Scorchers had a good run,  beating the Heat in the semis last season before falling to the Sixers.

Perth has a strong cast heading into the new season, including the English duo of Katherine Brunt and Natalie Sciver to go alongside Australia captain Meg Lanning.


Perth Scorchers 2017/18 WBBL squad:
Nicole Bolton, Katherine Brunt (Eng), Meg Lanning, Elyse Villani, Megan Banting, Mathilda Carmichael, Piepa Cleary, Lauren Ebsary, Heather Graham, Mikayla Hinkley, Emma King, Chloe Piparo, Natalie Sciver (Eng), Emily Smith, Katie Hartshorn

Sydney Sixers

The Sixers built upon their momentum from season one and turned it into a finals victory over the Scorchers.

The Sixers resigned Ellyse Perry, Alyssa Healy and Asheigh Gardner and scored a major addition by signing Lauren Cheatle away from the Thunder.

Sydney Sixers 2017/18 WBBL squad:
Ellyse Perry (C), Sarah Aley, Erin Burns, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jodie Hicks, Marizanne Kapp, Carly Leeson, Emily Leys, Sara McGlashan, Ange Reakes, Lauren Smith, Dane Van Niekerk, Clara Iemma

Sydney Thunder


Sydney Thunder did not live up to their success from season one, finishing sixth in what has to be considered a disappointing year.

Alex Blackwell and Rachel Haynes have resigned for the upcoming season.

Sydney Thunder 2017/18 WBBL squad:
Alex Blackwell (C), Sam Bates, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Maisy Gibson, Lisa Griffith, Rachael Haynes, Rachel Priest, Naomi Stalenberg, Harmanpreet Kaur, Rachel Trenaman, Hannah Trethewy, Belinda Vakarewa, Rene Farrell, Stafanie Taylor