The Roar
The Roar



Sydney FC celebrate (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

The A-League is Australia’s premier national football competition, having replaced the defunct NSL in 2004. Kicking off its inaugural season in 2005-06, the A-League currently features 12 teams – 11 from Australia and one from New Zealand.

2020-21 A-League fixture and draw

Of the original eight clubs, seven still remain in the competition. Adelaide United, Brisbane Roar, Central Coast Mariners, Melbourne Victory, Newcastle Jets, Perth Glory and Sydney FC have competed in the competition since inception, with the New Zealand Knights being replaced by Wellington Phoenix in 2007.

Attempted expansion in the late 2000s proved unsuccessful, with Gold Coast United and North Queensland Fury both joining in 2009 but dissolving within three years.

Since then, however, the league added Melbourne City (originally known as Melbourne Heart) and Western Sydney Wanderers to great success, with Western United (based in Melbourne’s west) joining for the 2019-20 season and Macarthur FC joining in 2020-21.

Currently, A-League teams play 26 matches every season – playing each opponent at least twice. The top six clubs progress to the A-League finals, with the elimination series culminating in the grand final – where the champions for the season are decided.

The 2019-20 season was won by Sydney FC, after they defeated Melbourne City in the grand final.

Full list of A-League champions

Season Grand final Premiers
2019-20 Sydney FC 1-0 (aet) Melbourne City Sydney FC
2018-19 Sydney FC 0-0 (4-1p) Perth Glory Perth Glory
2017-18 Melbourne Victory 1-0 Newcastle Jets Sydney FC
2016-17 Sydney FC 1-1 (4-2p) Melbourne Victory Sydney FC
2015-16 Adelaide United 3-1 Western Sydney Wanderers Adelaide United
2014-15 Melbourne Victory 3-0 Sydney FC Melbourne Victory
2013-14 Brisbane Roar 2-1 (aet) Western Sydney Wanderers Brisbane Roar
2012-13 Central Coast Mariners 2-0 Western Sydney Wanderers Western Sydney Wanderers
2011-12 Brisbane Roar 2-1 Perth Glory Central Coast Mariners
2010-11 Brisbane Roar 2-2 (4-2p) Central Coast Mariners Brisbane Roar
2009-10 Sydney FC 1-1 (4-2p) Melbourne Victory Sydney FC
2008-09 Melbourne Victory 1-0 Adelaide United Melbourne Victory
2007-08 Newcastle Jets 1-0 Central Coast Mariners Central Coast Mariners
2006-07 Melbourne Victory 6-0 Adelaide United Melbourne Victory
2005-06 Sydney FC 1-0 Central Coast Mariners Adelaide United

More Football content