The Roar
The Roar


2023 French Open

Spain's Rafael Nadal returns a shot during a French Open match. (AP Photo/Alessandra Tarantino)

The French Open is the second Grand Slam on the tennis calendar, and the only one to be played on a clay surface.

The event is traditionally held in Paris from late May to early June.

Officially known in French as ‘Les Internationaux de France de Roland-Garros’ or ‘Tournoi de Roland-Garros’, the Open is named after the great French aviator, Roland Garros.

Being the only Grand Slam tournament played on clay, a much slower surface than the grass or hard courts used at the other three Slams, means the five-set men’s singles matches (without a tiebreak in the fifth set), makes for the most physically demanding tennis on the calendar.

Iga Swiatek and Novak Djokovic won the women’s and men’s singles titles in the 2023 edition.

Rafael Nadal was the reigning men’s singles champion and has won the event an unprecedented 14 times, but did not participate in the 2023 tournament due to a hip injury. It is the first time he has missed the French Open since his debut in 2005, when he claimed the first of his titles.

The 2023 French Open ran from Sunday, May 28 until Sunday, June 10.



2023 Champions:

Men’s Singles: Novak Djokovic defeated Casper Ruud 7-6 (1), 6-3, 7-5
Women’s Singles: Iga Swiatek defeated Karolina Muchova 6-2, 5-7, 6-4

Looking for another Grand Slam?
» Wimbledon
» US Open
» Australian Open

More Tennis content