The Roar
The Roar


2020 Wimbledon Championships

(Clive Mason/Getty Images)

Wimbledon 2011Wimbledon commences each June, and represents the the third in four annual Grand Slam tennis tournaments, along with the Australian Open, French Open and US Open.

The 2020 Wimbledon Championships have been cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Wimbledon is the only Grand Slam tournament still played on grass courts. All the players, even the clay courters, speak reverently of the tradition and “special” atmosphere of SW19.


Played at the All England Club in the London suburb of Wimbledon, it is the oldest tennis tournament in the world, having begun in 1877.

Taking place over two weeks in late June and early July, Wimbledon culminates with the gentlemen’s singles final, scheduled for the second Sunday. In addition to being the oldest tennis tournament, Wimbledon is also seen as the most prestigious.

The 2019 Wimbledon Championships ran from Monday, July 1 to Sunday, July 14.

Looking for another Grand Slam?
» French Open
» US Open
» Australian Open

Current Champions:


Men’s Singles: Novak Djokovic defeated Roger Federer 7-6, 1-6, 7-6, 4-6, 13-12
Women’s Singles: Simona Halep defeated Serena Williams 6-2, 6-2

More Tennis content