The Roar
The Roar



This video has expired

What does this mean?

Brownlow Medal 2019: Liam Ryan wins Mark of the Year

West Coast’s Liam Ryan has won this year’s Mark of the Year award.

The man they call Flyin’ Ryan lived up to his reputation with three nominations across the season, two of which made the final selection for the 2019 Brownlow Medal count.

More 2019 Brownlow
» Fyfe wins second Brownlow
» WATCH: Goal of the year
» Fashion ratings
» Every vote
» Full leaderboard
» Club most votes

However, it was his spectacular mark which he took over the top of 208cm tall ruckman Max Gawn during the Eagles’ 16-point win over Melbourne that would secure the gong.

Ryan was also widely praised for his courageous mark running back with the flight of the ball against Carlton in Round 20.

The 22-year-old was named the winner ahead of Isaac Heeney, who claimed last year’s Mark of the Year award.