The Roar
The Roar


What time do the Olyroos play Egypt tonight at the Olympics?

Can the Olyroos make the knock-out stage of an Olympic tournament? (Photo by Ayman Aref/NurPhoto via Getty Images)
28th July, 2021
1753 Reads

The Olyroos are back in action tonight against Egypt and they’ll be looking for at least a draw to clinch second place in Group C at the Tokyo Olympics.

The Olyroos have been one of the stories of the Olympics after failing to qualify for the last two Games in Rio de Janeiro and London. They famously defeated Argentina in the opening match before enduring a tight loss against Spain.

What time are the Olyroos playing tonight?
The Australian side is scheduled to take on Egypt at 8:00pm local time in Rifu which is to the north-east of Tokyo. Local time in Rifu equates to 9:00pm AEST on the eastern side of Australia or 7:00pm AWST if you’re in Western Australia.

How to watch the Australian Olyroos vs Egypt
Channel 7 and 7plus have exclusive rights to the Olympics and is the only place you can legally watch the Games.

At this stage Channel 7 is advertising that the football will be broadcast on the 7Mate channel which is channel 73 in metro areas. This could change and as we’ve seen already in the Olympics the broadcaster is likely to switch channels during events. If you can’t find the match on 7Mate chances are it’s on the main channel which is 70 in metro areas.

If you’d prefer to watch the Olyroos on a live stream you can do so through the free 7plus. As well as being available online there is an app available for both android and mac devices by downloading from the relevant app store. You can also access 7plus through most smart TVs by searching for 7plus on your TV’s app page.

Game information

Kick-off: 9:00pm (AEST)
Venue: Miyagi Stadium, Rifu
TV: Channel Seven, 7Mate
Online: 7plus



1. Thomas Glover, 2. Nathaniel Atkinson, 3. Kye Rowles, 4. Jay Rich-Baghuelou, 5. Harry Souttar, 6, Keanu Baccus, 7. Reno Piscopo, 8. Riley McGree, 9. Nicholas D’Agostino, 10. Denis Genreau, 11. Daniel Arzani, 12. Mitch Duke, 13. Dylan Pierias, 14. Thomas Deng, 15. Caleb Watts, 16, Joel King, 17. Connor Metcalfe, 18. Ashley Maynard-Brewer, 19. Marco Tilio, 20. Lachlan Wales, 21. Cameron Devlin, 22. Jordan Holmes

1. Mohamed Elshenawy, 2. Ammar Hamdy, 3. Karim Fouad, 4. Osama Galal, 5. Mohamad Abdelsalam, 6. Ahmed Hegazy, 7. Salah Mohsen, 8. Nasser Maher, 9. Taher Mohamed, 10. Ramadan Sobhi, 11. Ibrahim Adel, 12. Akram Tawfik, 13. Karim Eraky, 14. Ahmed Rayan, 15. Emam Ashour, 16. Mahmoud Gad, 17. Ahmed Ramadan, 18. Mahmoud El Wench, 19. Abdel Rahman, 20. Ahmed Foutouh, 21. Nasser Mansy, 22. Mohamed Sobhy