The Roar
The Roar


2019 Melbourne Cup

Cross Counter has won the 2018 Melbourne Cup. (Photo: Brett Holburt/Racing Photos via Getty Images)

The 2019 Melbourne Cup will be held at the traditional time of 3pm on the first Tuesday of November, which this year is November 5.

Cross Counter won the 2018 Melbourne Cup with a stunning surge down the final strait to finish a length ahead of Marmelo, who came in second. A Prince of Arran finished third, while Finche ran fourth.

In some sour news around the illustrious race, The Cliffsofmoher had to be euthanised. The Irish horse could not be saved after pulling up with a broken right shoulder.

Raced on the first Tuesday each November, the Melbourne Cup is known as ‘the race that stops a nation.’ The 2018 edition was raced on Tuesday, November 6 at 3pm (AEST).

Melbourne Cup live blog and results

The Group 1 Melbourne Cup is run over 3200m and offers a total prize pool of $7.3 million, attracting quality staying horses from around the globe every year.


Only the Dubai Cup ($10 million USD) offers more prize money than the Melbourne Cup.

The 2018 edition was the 158th running of Australia’s most famous and popular thoroughbred race, and was held at Flemington Racecourse in Melbourne on the first Tuesday of November.

Full Melbourne Cup finishing order: 2018

Position Horse Trainer Jockey Weight Prize
1st 23. Cross Counter (GB) (19) C.Appleby K.McEvoy 51kg $4,000,000
2nd 9. Marmelo (GB) (10) H.Morrison H.Bowman 55kg $1,000,000
3rd 17. A Prince Of Arran (GB) (20) C.Fellowes M.Walker 53kg $500,000
4th 13. Finche (GB) (15) C.J.Waller Z.Purton 54kg $300,000
5th 24. Rostropovich (IRE) (21) A.O’Brien W.M.Lordan 51kg $200,000
6th 22. Youngstar (8) C.J.Waller C.Williams 51.5kg $150,000
7th 19. Sir Charles Road (14) L.O’Sullivan & A.Scott D.Dunn 53kg $150,000
8th 1. Best Solution (IRE) (6) S.B.Bin Suroor P.Cosgrave 57.5kg $150,000
9th 5. Muntahaa (IRE) (13) J.Gosden J.Crowley 55.5kg $150,000
10th 16. Ventura Storm (IRE) (7) D. & B.Hayes & T.Dabernig M.Zahra 54kg $150,000
11th 11. Yucatan (IRE) (23) A.O’Brien J.B.McDonald 54.5kg $150,000
12th 18. Nakeeta (GB) (3) I.Jardine R.Bayliss 53kg $150,000
13th 20. Zacada (NZ) (24) M.Baker & A.Forsman D.M.Lane 53kg
14th 4. Chestnut Coat (JPN) (4) Y.Yahagi Y.Kawada 55.5kg
15th 15. Vengeur Masque (IRE) (2) M.D.Moroney P.M.Moloney 54kg
16th 3. Magic Circle (IRE) (17) I.Williams C.Brown 56kg
17th 7. Who Shot Thebarman (NZ) (18) C.J.Waller B.J.Melham 55.5kg
18th 6. Sound Check (GER) (16) M.D.Moroney J.Childs 55.5kg
19th 21. Runaway (12) G. Waterhouse & A. Bott S.Baster 52kg
20th 8. Ace High (22) D.L.Payne T.Angland 55kg
21st 12. Auvray (FR) (1) R.A.Freedman T.Berry 54kg
22nd 10. Avilius (GB) (11) J.A.Cummings G.Schofield 54.5kg
23rd 14. Red Cardinal (IRE) (5) D.K.Weir D.Oliver 54kg
FF 2. The Cliffsofmoher (IRE) (9) A.O’Brien R.Moore 56.5kg

Q: What time did the Melbourne Cup start?
A: The 2018 Melbourne Cup was at 3pm AEDT (Melbourne time) on Tuesday, November 6.

Other times: Queensland: 2pm AEST, South Australia: 2:30pm ACDT, Western Australia: 12pm AWST

Q: What channel was the Cup on?
A: Channel Seven had the rights to the live race, at 3pm.

Q: What was the track condition?
A: Heavy rains in Melbourne saw the track rated a soft 7, but a late dry patch saw that amended to a soft 6.


2017 Melbourne Cup winner

The 2017 Melbourne Cup was won by Rekindling when it was run on Tuesday, November 7.

More Racing content