The Roar
The Roar


2018 Melbourne Cup final finishing order and field

Cross Counter has won the 2018 Melbourne Cup. (Photo: Brett Holburt/Racing Photos via Getty Images)

Cross Counter has won the 2018 Melbourne Cup with a stunning comeback.

Marmelo finished second, and A Prince of Arran finished third.

Unfortunately, The Cliffsofmoher was unable to finish the race after pulling up with a broken right shoulder as the pack passed the post for the first time, and had to be euthanised.

The final field for the 2018 Melbourne Cup was announced on November 3. The most prestigious race in Australia featured 24 horses on Tuesday, November 6.

Nominations for 2018’s Melbourne Cup began on Tuesday, August 28 and closed on Tuesday, September 4. Handicaps were then declared on Tuesday, September 11.

The first declarations were made on Tuesday, October 9 while the second declarations are scheduled for Monday, October 29. The declarations stage wrapped up on Saturday, November 3.


There were also four ballot exemptions for the race, which were awarded by winning important lead-up races.

In 2018, the ballot exemption races were The Bart Cummings, the Caulfield Cup, the Cox Plate and the Lexus Stakes.

2018 Melbourne Cup full field and finishing order

Position Horse Trainer Jockey Weight Prize
1st 23. Cross Counter (GB) (19) C.Appleby K.McEvoy 51kg $4,000,000
2nd 9. Marmelo (GB) (10) H.Morrison H.Bowman 55kg $1,000,000
3rd 17. A Prince Of Arran (GB) (20) C.Fellowes M.Walker 53kg $500,000
4th 13. Finche (GB) (15) C.J.Waller Z.Purton 54kg $300,000
5th 24. Rostropovich (IRE) (21) A.O’Brien W.M.Lordan 51kg $200,000
6th 22. Youngstar (8) C.J.Waller C.Williams 51.5kg $150,000
7th 19. Sir Charles Road (14) L.O’Sullivan & A.Scott D.Dunn 53kg $150,000
8th 1. Best Solution (IRE) (6) S.B.Bin Suroor P.Cosgrave 57.5kg $150,000
9th 5. Muntahaa (IRE) (13) J.Gosden J.Crowley 55.5kg $150,000
10th 16. Ventura Storm (IRE) (7) D. & B.Hayes & T.Dabernig M.Zahra 54kg $150,000
11th 11. Yucatan (IRE) (23) A.O’Brien J.B.McDonald 54.5kg $150,000
12th 18. Nakeeta (GB) (3) I.Jardine R.Bayliss 53kg $150,000
13th 20. Zacada (NZ) (24) M.Baker & A.Forsman D.M.Lane 53kg
14th 4. Chestnut Coat (JPN) (4) Y.Yahagi Y.Kawada 55.5kg
15th 15. Vengeur Masque (IRE) (2) M.D.Moroney P.M.Moloney 54kg
16th 3. Magic Circle (IRE) (17) I.Williams C.Brown 56kg
17th 7. Who Shot Thebarman (NZ) (18) C.J.Waller B.J.Melham 55.5kg
18th 6. Sound Check (GER) (16) M.D.Moroney J.Childs 55.5kg
19th 21. Runaway (12) G. Waterhouse & A. Bott S.Baster 52kg
20th 8. Ace High (22) D.L.Payne T.Angland 55kg
21st 12. Auvray (FR) (1) R.A.Freedman T.Berry 54kg
22nd 10. Avilius (GB) (11) J.A.Cummings G.Schofield 54.5kg
23rd 14. Red Cardinal (IRE) (5) D.K.Weir D.Oliver 54kg
FF 2. The Cliffsofmoher (IRE) (9) A.O’Brien R.Moore 56.5kg

More Racing content