The Roar
The Roar


Cricket World Cup 2023 squads

(AP Photo/Rafiq Maqbool)

India will host the 2023 Cricket World Cup from Thursday, October 5 until Sunday, November 19.

All teams finalised their 15-player squads on September 28, with any replacements after this date requiring approval from the ICC.

England are the defending champions after winning their first ever World Cup in 2019 with their narrowest of wins over New Zealand in the final.

The structure of the tournament has varied over the decades since the first World Cup in 1975, with as many as 16 teams (last seen in 2007) and as low as 10, which will be the number for this year’s tournament.

Test-playing nations Ireland, West Indies and Zimbabwe failed to make this year’s event after falling short at the recent qualifying tournament with Sri Lanka and the Netherlands sealing the final two spots.

You can view the full 2023 Cricket World Cup fixtures here.

World Cup squads

Afghanistan: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil, Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abdul Rahman, Naveen ul Haq. Odds: $101 via PlayUp


Fast bowler Naveen-ul-Haq has returned to the Afghanistan one-day squad for the upcoming World Cup in India more than two years after playing his last ODI.

Rashid Khan will spearhead a spin attack that also includes Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Noor Ahmad.

Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc. Odds: $5 via PlayUp

Australia’s selectors have opted for Sean Abbott’s experience ahead of a second spinner for the tournament in India after Ashton Agar (calf) was ruled out.

Travis Head has been included despite a broken hand with Marnus Labuschagne recalled as cover ahead of their opening game against the host nation on October 8 in Chennai.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Kumer Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto (vc), Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib. Odds: $34 via PlayUp

Tamim Iqbal says he has opted out of the World Cup after a dispute with a member of the Bangladesh Cricket Board, while describing the situation as “a dirty game”.


Tamim, Bangladesh’s all-time top scorer in ODIs with 8,357 runs in 240 innings, returned to the squad for the recent New Zealand series after recovering from back pain which had led him to quit the one-day captaincy.

England: Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Gus Atkinson, Jonny Bairstow, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, David Willey, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes. Odds: $4 via PlayUp

Only a handful of members from the Ashes team will back up for the World Cup – Joe Root, Jonny Bairstow, Mark Wood, Chris Woakes and Moeen Ali, as well as Ben Stokes, who has come out of ODI retirement for the tournament.

Jason Roy, having been culled from the squad in favour of Harry Brook, has made himself available for reserve duty.

Jofra Archer may be England’s only travelling reserve to India for the World Cup but Matthew Mott is aware that another misstep with the fast bowler’s fitness could have “serious ramifications”.

The recurrence of a stress fracture in Archer’s right elbow sidelined him for the summer and ultimately kept him out of England’s 15-man squad for the defence of their title. Archer is part of the touring party as cover and a tantalising option if injury strikes, even if it is anticipated he will not be ready to make his return until the tournament is close to a conclusion.

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav. Odds: $3.25 via PlayUp


Rohit Sharma will captain the tournament favourites. India have recalled a fit-again KL Rahul for their home World Cup with off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin a late inclusion due to a thigh injury to Axar Patel. Jasprit Bumrah is on the comeback trail after nearly a year out with a back injury.

Netherlands: Scott Edwards (c), Max O’Dowd, Bas de Leede, Vikram Singh, Teja Nidamanuru, Paul van Meekeren, Colin Ackermann, Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Ryan Klein, Wesley Barresi, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmad, Sybrand Engelbrecht. Odds: $2001 via PlayUp

The Dutch qualified ahead of Test-playing nations despite several of their players being unavailable due to county cricket.

Bas de Leede is expected to be their go-to guy at the tournament after strong form during the qualifying stages.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitch Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young. Odds: $10 via PlayUp

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has been included in the 15-man squad for the World Cup after recovering from knee surgery.

Williamson suffered the injury while playing in the Indian Premier League during March, but has made sufficient progress in his recovery to be ready for the start of the tournament in October.


Veteran seamer Trent Boult has been included in the Black Caps squad despite securing a release from his central contract to be more available for T20 franchises.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Mohammad Rizwan, Saud Shakeel, Iftikhar Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Afridi, Mohammad Wasim. Odds: $7 via PlayUp

Legitimate contenders for the trophy with a talented team led by captain Babar Azam, keeper Mohammad Rizwan and pace trio Shaheen Afridi, Hasan Ali and Haris Rauf. 

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lizaad Williams. Odds: $11 via PlayUp

Wicketkeeper-batter Quinton de Kock has announced he will retire from the format after the tournament.

Experienced all-rounder Wayne Parnell is a notable absentee but has been struggling with a shoulder injury, while young batters Dewald Brevis and Tristan Stubbs have not been selected.

Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka (c), Kusal Mendis (vc), Kusal Perera, Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Kumara, Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka, Dushan Hemantha. Odds: $23 via PlayUp


Dasun Shanaka will lead a depleted Sri Lanka at the Cricket World Cup in India after fast bowler Dushmantha Chameera and all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga were left out of the nation’s 15-player squad.

Chameera sustained a pectoral muscle injury during the Lanka Premier League last month, while Hasaranga picked up a hamstring problem that kept him out of the Asia Cup, in which Sri Lanka lost to India in the final.

This page will be constantly updated as team news becomes available, with a full list of fixtures for the tournament also available on The Roar with Australian start times so that you won’t miss a moment of the action once the tournament gets underway.

More Cricket content