The Roar
The Roar


Cricket World Cup 2019

Can Australia lift the trophy again at the 2019 Cricket World Cup? (Photo: AAP)

The 2019 Cricket World Cup took place in England and Wales from Thursday, May 30 until Sunday, July 14.

The Cricket World Cup is the biggest ODI event on the international calendar. Played just once every four years, it features the leading teams in the game including Australia, England, South Africa, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and Sri Lanka as they fight it out for the ultimate prize.

England won their first ever World Cup in 2019, following an incredible – albeit controversial – win over New Zealand in the final.

The structure of the tournament has varied over the years, with as many as 16 teams (last seen in 2007) and as low as ten.

You can view the full 2019 Cricket World Cup fixtures here.

Australia are the most successful team in Cricket World Cup history, winning five of the 11 tournaments. India and the West Indies have won two apiece, while Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England are the other teams with victories.

Full Cricket World Cup history

Year Host Winner Runner-up
1975 England West Indies Australia
1979 England West Indies England
1983 England, Wales India West Indies
1987 India, Pakistan Australia England
1992 Australia, New Zealand Pakistan England
1996 Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Australia
1999 England, Scotland, Wales, Ireland, Netherlands Australia Pakistan
2003 South Africa, Zimbabwe, Kenya Australia India
2007 West Indies Australia Sri Lanka
2011 India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh India Sri Lanka
2015 Australia, New Zealand Australia New Zealand
2019 England, Wales England New Zealand
2023 India

After the 2019 World Cup, the tournament will head to India, with the sub-continent nation hosting the 2023 tournament.


More Cricket content