The Roar
The Roar


The Ashes

Without doubt cricket’s most important Test Series, The Ashes competition was founded in 1882 and is played by cricket’s oldest Test nations, England and Australia.

The Ashes series began thanks to a satirical obituary published in English newspaper, the Sporting Times. The article focused on England’s failure in losing to Australia on English soil for the first time in its short history, claiming that English cricket had died – with the ashes taken to Australia – leading to the establishment of cricket’s most illustrious Test series.

2017/18 Ashes Series

» Broadcast information and TV schedule
» Squads for the 2017/18 Ashes
» Latest cricket news and opinion
» Latest cricket videos

Australia have regained the urn, winning the first three Tests of the series. They won the first Test in Brisbane by 10 wickets, and following that up with a win by 120 runs in the second Test, at Adelaide.

In Perth, it was a dominant win by an innings and 41 runs which saw Australia clinch the urn.

The final two dead rubber Tests saw a draw on a lifeless pitch in Melbourne, before Australia picked up a win by an innings in Sydney.

2017/2018 Ashes Squads

Steve Smith (c), David Warner (vc), Cameron Bancroft, Jackson Bird, Pat Cummins, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, Chadd Sayers, Mitchell Starc.


Joe Root (c), Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Jake Ball, Gary Ballance, Stuart Broad, Alastair Cook, Mason Crane, Ben Foakes, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Mark Stoneman, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Tom Curran

2017/18 Ashes Schedule

No. Teams Venue Date
1st Test Australia vs England Gabba, Brisbane November 23-27
2nd Test Australia vs England Adelaide Oval (D/N)* December 2-6
3rd Test Australia vs England W.A.C.A, Perth December 14-18
4th Test Australia vs England MCG, Melbourne December 26-30
5th Test Australia vs England SCG, Sydney January 4-8

* Day-Night Test

Australia's David Warner and Steve Smith

2015 Series:
The last series was contested in England during the English summer of 2015, with matches played at Lord’s, Trent Bridge, Sophia Gardens, Edgbaston and The Oval.

England won the series 3-2, with victories in Cardiff, Trent Bridge and Edgbaston. Australian won the matches at Lord’s and The Oval.

Relive the 2015 Ashes
First Test: Sophia Gardens, Cardiff (Jul 8-11, 2015). View the full scoreboard.
Second Test: Lord’s, London (Jul 16-19, 2015). View the full scoreboard.
Third Test: Edgbaston, Birmingham (Jul 29-31, 2015). View the full scoreboard.
Fourth Test: Trentbridge, Nottingham (Aug 6-8, 2015). View the full scoreboard.
Fifth Test: The Oval, London (Aug 20-23, 2015). View the full scoreboard.


2013/14 series
Holding the Ashes when they arrived for the 2013/14 series, England started as favourites to retain the urn against an Australian side struggling for consistency and form.

However, Australia would go on to claim a famous 5-0 series whitewash, off the back of incredible performances from Mitch Johnson with the ball and Steve Smith with the bat.

Relive the 2013/14 Ashes:
First Test: Gabba, Brisbane (Nov 21-25, 2013). View the full scoreboard.
Second Test: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (Dec 5-9, 2013). View the full scoreboard.
Third Test: WACA, Perth (Dec 13-17, 2013). View the full scoreboard.
Fourth Test: MCG, Melbourne (December 26-30, 2013). View the full scoreboard.
Fifth Test: SCG, Sydney (Jan 2-6, 2014). View the full scoreboard.