The Roar
The Roar


Bledisloe Cup 2020

(Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

Welcome to The Roar’s comprehensive coverage of the 2020 Bledisloe Cup.

The pinnacle of Trans-Tasman sport, the Bledisloe Cup is one of the most revered trophies in world rugby. Contested each year between Australia and New Zealand, it has seen some classic encounters and has cultivated one of the greatest international rugby rivalries.

» REPORT: Wallabies save some face with Game 4 win

The 2020 series was a four-Test series, with New Zealand having wrapped up an 18th-straight series win after taking a 2-0 lead. After a 16-6 draw in Game 1, the All Blacks won Game 2 27-7 and Game 3 43-5 to secure the cup once more. The series wrapped up in Brisbane, with Australia winning the final game 24-22.

You can view the full 2020 Bledisloe Cup fixtures here.

2020 Bledisloe Cup matches

Date Result Venue
Oct 10 16-6 Sky Stadium, Wellington
Oct 17 NZ 27-7 Eden Park, Auckland
Oct 31 AUS 5-43 NZ ANZ Stadium, Sydney
Nov 7 AUS 24-22 NZ Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane


The history of the Bledisloe Cup dates back to 1931, when New Zealand’s governor-general, Lord Bledisloe, donated the trophy for the two nations to compete for. New Zealand won the initial encounter in a 20-13 victory in Auckland, and it wasn’t until 1934 that Australia got their hands on the trophy.


While the Bledisloe Cup is now an annual instalment, it wasn’t until 1982 that the two countries agreed to contest the trophy on a yearly basis. The arrival of the Tri-Nations tournament ensured the Wallabies and All Blacks would face off at least twice a year – the series had previously varied anywhere between one and five matches long.

Overall, New Zealand hold a huge advantage in total Bledisloe titles with 48 to Australia’s 12 – including the last 16 in a row.

Australia last tasted Bledisloe success in 2002, which was actually their fifth title in a row.

Recent Series

It was a familiar tale of hope and disappointment for the Wallabies last year, recording an amazing win in the series opener only to be wiped off the park in Game 2.

The Australians hosted the All Blacks at Optus Stadium for the first time ever in the first Test and set a record score of 47 against the Kiwis, victorious by 21 points.

However, the All Blacks were simply unstoppable the following week in Game 2, winning 36-0 and, as reigning champions, retaining the trophy after a 1-1 drawn series.

2019 Bledisloe Cup matches

Date Result Venue
10 Aug AUS 47-26 NZ Optus Stadium, Perth
17 Aug NZ 36-0 AUS Eden Park, Auckland

The Wallabies endured yet another miserable Bledisloe campaign in 2018, suffering their second 3-0 whitewash in three years.

Australia simply couldn’t keep the All Blacks out of the in-goal area, conceding 35 points or more in all three matches.

The series victory sees New Zealand hold onto the Bledisloe Cup for a 16th consecutive season.

2018 Bledisloe Cup matches

Date Result Venue
18 Aug NZ 40-12 AUS ANZ Stadium, Sydney
25 Aug NZ 38-13 AUS Eden Park, Auckland
27 Oct NZ 37-20 AUS Nissan Stadium, Yokohama

*All times are in AEST/AEDT (Sydney/Melbourne time)

More Bledisloe Cup 2020 content